My first book published, my first-born!

It is another serene Sunday morning. I am at my studio surrounded by my many unfinished paintings, bundles of canvases and paper, boxes and jars full of paint, brushes and pencils, mountains of books and writing paper, easels and my old guitar. Jackie’s chair is next to my writing table. She used to curl up on it while I was working. It was her favorite place. Today it is empty. Her chain lies on the chair. Every meeting ends with separation. This is an eternal truth.
I have been spending hours in front of my computer since morning, hands on the keyboard, surfing the net, wondering what to write. It has been one week since my first book published. I remember the very moment when I got the call from my publisher and telling me the good news. It was one joyful moment of my life. I am sure every author has experienced that wonderful feeling. It was a Saturday and I was having my lunch. After the call I could not eat. I was impatient to see my book and hold it in my hands. It was like the urge to hold your first-born child in your hands. Of course, this book IS my first-born! Will my book market well or not, will it be a best seller, what the critics will say, these things are entirely out of my concern as of now. What is important to me is that I have kept one solid step forward as an author.
It was a bright sunny Monday morning. I was sitting in a chair at the publishing company in Colombo.The person in front of me was explaining about the agreement and the selling process. I was impatient to hold my first-born in my hands. However, I have to remain patient and maintain my professional image high, though I am a beginner. Finally, she said,
“Ms.Ama, do you want your copies today? If not you can get money instead books.”
“I want to have my copies.” I replied slowly with a smile.
“Ok then miss, wait for ten minutes, I will be right back with your books.”
She went out of the room. It was not ten minutes for me; it was like waiting for ten long hours. She returned with a pile of books in her hand. The agreement signed and all the official work done. I took one book to my hands. I was staring at it for a moment or two. I was smiling. “Thank you very much.” I said politely.
“You are welcome miss, and all the best. This must be your first book miss. I can see it.”
“Yes, this is my first book. Thank you very much.”

Soon I was walking down the lane towards my vehicle. It was blazing hot. I was cuddling the pile of books, one book in my left hand and I was staring at it with a smile. I did not feel the hot sun, or the honking of the vehicles. Suddenly someone dragged me out of the road and shouted at me,
“Are you mad or something like that girl, you nearly killed yourself.”
A person in a car shouted at me. Other vehicles were honking as they all have gone crazy due to the unbearable warmth of the blazing sun. “Do you want to kill yourself?”
“Maybe she is dumb or something” a kind woman said, “or probably depressed..”
“Come to your senses and walk mindfully.”
I was startled. I have crossed the road when it was green light for vehicles and red light for pedestrians. “I..i…well…umm..” I stammered.. “I am terribly sorry… I mean it..”
“No need to say sorry for us. Just be careful.”
“Yes, I will..” I tried to smile and left the crowd. “ poor girl, something must be troubling her, she has lost her mind.” I heard someone saying.
What a fool I was. I was laughing for myself. Soon I was in my vehicle with my first-born.

© සියලූම හිමිකම් ඇවිරිණි. කතෘගේ ලිඛිත අවසරය නොමැතිව මෙහි සඳහන් කිසිවක් හෝ උපුටා ගැනීම, ගබඩා කර තැබීම, නැවත ප්‍රකාශය, පලකිරීම සපුරා තහනම්ය.

Copyright © All Rights Reserved. The words, ideas and images are the intellectual property of Ama H. Vanniarachchy. All work published (words and images) here is copyrighted. If you wish to reproduce the work published here, please inform the writer, to get her written permission and acknowledge this site as the source.

Leave a Reply

